Sonnets I-III

I recently discovered how to actually write sonnets. There are a couple of different meters that I use, so they look a bit different. In the reading of these, remember that they are Iambic (one unstressed syllable followed by one stressed syllable. Repeat ’til end of line). Also, the caesura (“//”) means an audible stop in the middle of the line. Hope you like them!

Sonnet I
But what can be the length of time for me?
When all I know is naught but dust in space
The sands from shore too far for eye to see
Cling hard, yearning for me and my proud race
And now I age within my brief respite
But age cannot touch that which I hold dear
That which brings joy to eye and mind, delight
And which I claim as mine, forever near
I shall ever contend to hold this one
And never more will I forget to claim
The love of her  to whom I would now run
And bury in her arms my worried frame
To keep me safe from all the world outside
And never once, her name, will I deride

Sonnet II
Midnight wings fast above//The roof creaks loudly, sways
Imagination flies//Like time, a dart, o’erhead
And tales are born in me//Trying to climb away
My bones ache hard for now//They wish I was abed
They cry in tongues of fire//They show me how to sleep
And how to dream awake//And how to speak when not
With words of song and thought//That show how to dig deep
And hide within the sod//In arms of twisted rot
Below the world of men//In place with magic wrought
Where elves and dwarves give show//Of royal beauty won
And spells and magic find//Wise pupils who were taught
The ways of eldritch might//That hide away the son
Forever more can I//Keep there away from pain
Until my hole is found//Washed out by pouring rain

Sonnet III
And how can I forget//That hair of gold-spun thread
And eyes of emerald//That hide a soulful gaze
That ruminates among//The hidden and the dead
And sees the odd as norm//Among the world’s odd ways
But not the world has her//Rather my own, is she
And not for all the world//Would I give up that one
But I will take to death//That love I hold for thee
And when my end is near//It will not yet be done
It will, instead, grow up//Like vine unto the sky
Grow strong and old and tall//Trying the stars to climb
And never will I tell//A low and hateful lie
Lest you in sorrow cease//To love that which is mine
When I soar up away//My love will follow through
And when I’m up above// I’ll keep my eye on you

Leave a comment